Discount Sewing Trims, Sewing Inspiration & Sewing Advice

The Best iPod Apps for Sewers

Last Month my DH surprised me with an iTouch as an early anniversary gift,  every since then I’ve been spending more time than I care to admit on iTunes searching for new apps. Well, I recently I stumbled upon some really cool iPod apps for Sewers. Here are some of my favorites:

  1. FABRIC STASH: I’ve been sewing for years and have a pretty large fabric stash. My biggest challenge has been categorizing the fabric, cords, bullions and fringes that I have for my personal use. With Fabric Stash, I’m now able to do a better job of organizing my fabric and trims. I just take a picture of the item and upload the picture to my iTouch. Since each item can have 2 pictures I’m now taking pictures of the end-of-the-bolt prior to purchasing a new fabric (so I’m able to save the manufacturers care instructions along with the fabric pic). All and all this app is Awesome!
  2. UNITS: I’ve had this app for a while and use it frequently. It converts all type of measurements: length, temperature, weight.
  3. YARDAGE CALC: this app helps you estimate the yardage of fabric needed for your projects and it converts metric to yards.
  4. PATTERN PAL: I can enter every pattern in my stash- fabric yardage needed, notions, etc.  Now this information is easily retrievable when I visit my local fabric store.

Admittedly it will take me a while to input all of my fabric and patterns into my iTouch, but these apps have already saved me allot of time and money. Last week while on an impromptu shopping trip I found  an exquisite sewing trim and was able to purchase just the right amount that I will need to make my draperies!

I probably won’t be buying anymore sewing apps but you can check out this  post on BurdaStyle for even more great Apps

One response

  1. Hi there
    Talking about this I believe you might be interested in this page: the best iPad apps 🙂

    Have a look at it and help me to grow this list. Feel free to add your comments.

    Note that most of these apps can also be installed on the iphone.

    August 10, 2010 at 5:05 pm

Leave a Reply

