Discount Sewing Trims, Sewing Inspiration & Sewing Advice

Book Review: Patternreview.com 1,000 Clever Sewing Shortcuts and Tips: Top-Rated Favorites from Sewing Fans and Master Teachers

On an impulse, I purchased PatternReview.com 1,000 Clever Sewing Shortcuts and Tips at my local bookstore this week and I have to say, I’m not disappointed. As a busy mom and a business owner I almost never have a free moment to myself.  I’m always looking for easier, faster and more professional ways to sew things and I love books that are filled with clever sewing tips.

This book contains the best hands-on insider sewing tips from the sewing website PatternReview.com, which is a community of more than 170,000 members. The tips are collected from the website’s enormous database of members’ shared comments and advice. Also included are five special how-to features by PatternReview.com‘s master teachers and pattern designers, who regularly conduct online chats and workshops

The thing that impressed me most is that the tips are from everyday sewing enthusiasts who just happened to devise a cleaver solution for an annoying problem. It’s like having a bunch of sewing experts on your bookshelf sharing their secret time saving sewing techniques.

As I was reading this book for the first time I had so many ahhh haaa moments where I kept wondering  “why didn’t I think of doing this?”

Here of some of my favorite tips from the book:

#43 To Clean a dirty iron, spray Dawn Power Disolver on the soleplate and let sit for 10 minutes. Then use handi-wipes to wipe clean. Once this is done just run a half tank of water thru the steamer to ensure that none of the foam inadvertently entered the iron thru the holes.

#97  An electric carving knife is the best tool there is to cut foam.

The Bottom Line: This book will be a permanent part of my sewing library and is a really great resource to refer to before tackling a new project. It’s  perfect for beginners as well as advanced sewers.

Leave a Reply

